Sam’s Rant – Multiplayer Games

2 11 2009

Before I start this rant I would like to point out that I actually love games and do buy them and have a lot of fun with them.

Yes, its Finally here, My Blog has Finally Arrived.

Multiplayer games are something that can get on my nerves. Mainly online multiplayer games. The biggest problem for me is that everyone that I play against is better than me, bully me and try to lower my self esteem. This is also the case when playing Super Smash Bros Melee on the Game Cube in K101 (that is if I can play at all because some people hog the console and don’t allow anyone else to play it).

All right SSBM is not an online game but it is a multiplayer game. One major problem about online multiplayers is the game modes are the same and when playing with other people they use the same tactics over and over again (but they won’t allow me to do that). Let me tell you that I like playing Unreal Tournament 2004 after college and it can be quite fun hearing other people moan for a change when they get killed. Some people do a thing called camping (why is it called that). As far as I see it there is nothing wrong with it, it’s just like sniping in other shooting games. So by do these people who moan about campers when at points in the game they do it themselves. Also they do something called boosting (why is this also called that). Boosting involves pushing someone on your own team forward. Surely if it makes the player move quicker you could finish the game more quickly. This could also be used to cover by pushing your friend (or ex friend after playing the game) forward, they get shot and you take out the baddie.

Also why are multiplayer options (apparently) better than the normal single player in major BIG GAMES? OK in SSBM the single player is the biggest problem of the game, in fact it’s BORING. But in a game as big (or in my opinion PANTS) as HALO 3, surely the single player is better. Well according to most people, it’s not. This is also the case in Gears of War and maybe even Gears of War 2 (POO). I like playing multiplayer games with my friends; this is because for most of my life I live as a loner. In fact I hardly ever get to play a multiplayer game with friends because they might be doing something else (usually this involves getting or keeping fit, pursuing girls and drinking). In some circumstances it maybe they have a job, this is fine, they have to make money one way or another.

Most people playing online see me as either some new boy or some one to pick one, so they all target me (Mario Kart Wii).

You may still be saying to yourself “why is HALO 3 PANTS”. The multiplayer is the same game every time you play it; people target you in multiplayer and its PANTS. Put some new characters, weapons, vehicles and levels in it. In my opinion one of the best multiplayer games around is 007 Nightfire on the Game Cube. There are multiple modes, multiple characters, multiple levels and the multiplayer is actually fun. It’s a good laugh with friends and people don’t moan when you are camping (oh wait that’s a different game).

Fighting games are actually a lot of fun. My favourite is still Mortal Kombat because it is fun and it has a range of funability and isn’t ruined with university grad students all over the internet trying to ruin your day. TEKKEN 4 was a good multiplayer game (I don’t have it; I was playing the free version in GAME).

But games like SSBM and Soul Calibre ruin some of that funification by adding lots of stupid combos for players thinking it will be even more fun, but in actual fact it ruins your day by practicing for a full day in the practice mode and you have to memorize all of these.

Racing games are the best multiplayer games because it is just racing, and all you have to do is go faster than everybody else, EASY.  OK here I go and you are not going to like this one little bit but the thing after it is going to be worse.

FINAL FANTASY IS RUBBISH, EVERY GAME IS THE SAME.

OK, MMO’s are RUBBISH (apart from the new animal crossing on Wii). MMO’s are all the same; well to be far most are the same. Fantasy Medieval World with spells and swords. If you want to see how rubbish watch the Fable and Fable 2 reviews on Zero Punctuation. In order to be the best you have to get skill points and get more skill points but even if you get all the PANTS skill points there are there is still going to be someone better than you. I thought SPORE was going to have some thing of an MMO in it but NOOOOOOOOOOO. Also World of Warcraft is the same in every PANTS expansion pack there is. Be the hero and kill the Lich King for the one Millionth time. You could just form a group of friends but if they are at work (or down the pub going YAY or COME ON YOU BROWNS to the football, Drinking or pursuing Women) you cant play and get killed for the one Gillionth time (a Gillion is a new number that I created about 7 years ago). EVE Online is really the only game I have thought about playing because it looks like it’s the only one that works. Why doesn’t someone make an MMO about Pirates, that could be FUN?

In all seriousness I like playing multiplayer games but other people can ruin it by being mean to one another.

Here’s my tip, ADD SOME FUNIFICATION TO MULTIPLAYER GAMES AND LEAVE THE COMPETIVENESS FOR THE CGS.

GENEPOOL

Actions

Information

2 responses

24 11 2009
Sam B

I agree with most of this, especially the MMO part, POINTLESS! In regards to the Halo part though, if you are playing with the right group of people in multiplayer (those who enjoy it for what it is and take advantage of the custom games/forge) it is probably the most enjoyable multiplayer games out there.

20 03 2013
Latest Blog Milestone – Two Hundred And Fifty Posts | Numb3r5s's Blog

[…] Sam’s Rant – Multiplayer Games: Everyone needs to start somewhere and for me, this was it. this post was published all the way […]

Leave a Reply

