Dinosaurs Return To Television

14 09 2011

Tonight sees the television return of Dinosaurs. Back in 1999 Walking with Dinosaurs arrived on Television bringing extinct creatures back to life in one of the greatest TV documentaries of all time. The show used State of the Art Computer-Generated Imagery to bring these Ancient Giants back to life and with it came many more advances in Computer-Generated Imagery.

The show was made by Impossible Pictures and after the success of Walking with Dinosaurs they created many more TV series with the Walking with title including (The Fantastic) Walking with Beasts and Walking with Monsters. They then went on to do Primeval on ITV (ITV’s challenger to the re-launch of Doctor Who). Even though Primeval has dinosaurs in it Walking with Dinosaurs is still a lot better than Primeval.

It has now been almost 12 years since Walking with Dinosaurs first aired and tonight on BBC One the Ancient Giants return in Planet Dinosaur. This time however Impossible Pictures are not providing the Special Effects. Visual Effects studio Jellyfish PIctures have been commissioned to create the series. There have been several trailers shown on the BBC and it looks amazing, but how will it compare to Walking with Dinosaurs. I am already very excited about this new show and I don’t have long to wait.

Watch Planet Dinosaur 8:30pm on BBC One and BBC One HD (if you have access to BBC One HD).

GENEPOOL

Actions

Information

14 responses

19 09 2011
Planet Dinosaur: #1 Lost World « The University of Life

[…] for size and T. rex outdone for ferocity. PD animates scientific research using the latest CGI to capture every fleck of reptilian blood […]

19 09 2011
thereviewer

I used your post in my review of Planet Dinosaur, did you get the so called Pingback? You seem to know your stuff about CGI so I credited you. I still can’t manage to get some BBC videos with the embed code into my posts though, apparently you need vodpod?

19 09 2011
numb3r5s

Thankyou for your comment. If you liked this post you might find the film review I did of The Beast From 20,000 Fathoms interesting:

https://numb3r5s.wordpress.com/2011/06/15/100-million-years-bcgi-%e2%80%93-the-beast-from-20000-fathoms

I did think that the Special Effects were a bit more cartoony than the effects in Walking With Dinosaurs but they were still pretty good.

GENEPOOL

22 09 2011
Ian Moody

Could you make the Dinosaur Eye from the trailer into a screen saver please?

22 09 2011
numb3r5s

Unfortunately I do not know how to make screensavers. If one was made to look like the Dinosaur Eye I would be interested to have one to.

GENEPOOL

30 12 2011
Blog 2011 « Numb3r5s's Blog

[…] which included The BBC making a link to one of my posts (Which was Fantastic – Over 500 Views for one post). Also looking at some of my most viewed posts you can get an idea of what people who have read my […]

20 02 2012
Hoffi

Hi. I dont know where I can send a problems about Planet Dinosaur Game http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b014m55k/features/planet-dinosaur-game then I send it here. I have problem with Daspletosaurus. He grow in incubator but I dont get achi and he is still locked and cant set him to panorama. Sorry for wrong post here but I dont know where I can post this problem.
(Sorry for my english)

20 02 2012
numb3r5s

I didn’t know there was a game about Planet Dinosaur.

11 06 2012
Thomas

I have the same problem. Appears to be a bug.

11 06 2012
numb3r5s

I don’t know anything about this game so I am sorry that I cannot help you with it.

8 08 2012
25000 Blog Views « Numb3r5s's Blog

[…] Dinosaurs Return To Television This post was a surprise at how well it did. This post had a link to it on the BBC Web Page for […]

22 01 2013
George Osborn

A belated review here.
Yes, the CGI is more advanced and at times impressive, but also sterile and unengaging. Unfortunately, the narrative structure of the original BBC series ‘Walking with dinosaurs’ has been abandoned in favour of a succession of random facts and scenes. Combined with surroundings that are now completely digital, it just doesn’t feel like you’re there any more. It’s not Walking With Dinosaurs, it’s Watching Clips Of Dinosaurs.

Next time, bring back story arc, emotional involvement, actual backdrops, Kenneth Brannagh and composer Benjamin Bartlett.

22 01 2013
numb3r5s

I do prefer the non-story element and in a way I prefer John Hurt to Kenneth Branagh.

20 03 2013
Latest Blog Milestone – Two Hundred And Fifty Posts | Numb3r5s's Blog

[…] Dinosaurs Return To Television: A post which I did within a few hours of Planet Dinosaur’s first episode. This post had a […]

Leave a Reply

