My Harry Potter

4 04 2012

Over the past decade several pieces of fiction have been turned into films. One of the great things about doing something like this is that it reaches a new audience and so this new audience may decide to read the books that the films were based on. However this does not work all the time for me. My dad read one of the Narnia Books to me when I was about 9/10/11 and I did not understand it and so I stopped reading it – this was many years before the films. When Lord of the Pants was released I tried to read the books but I lost interest with in the first chapter. I have no intention of reading the Twilight Saga. I read the first 3 books of The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy but lost interest during Life, The Universe and Everything (I read those a while after I saw the original TV series) and I have only read 4 chapters of Order of the Phoenix (the only Harry Potter book I wanted to read). For many years now reading has not been a major thing for me, I used to love reading.

Recently however I have started reading again. I have started reading MogWorld and even though I have had it for over a year I still have not finished it. It was not until very recently that I really started reading. When I walk past Waterstones and see Inheritance it makes me want to read it (plus the previous books). I tried to read Romeo and Juliet but only got 30-40 pages in; it is easy to lose interest (I do like the 1996 film in a way – mainly because it has Pete Postlethwaite in it). Recently as some of my more frequent viewers will know I have read The Road, it was quite good. So from that I have wanted to get back into reading and the time was absolutely perfect for what I am currently reading. I did not get into Harry Potter, the films were good but that’s about it, to date only one film has made me want to read the books the film was based on. That film is my 4th favourite (NON-GODZILLA) film: it is called The Hunger Games.

The Hunger Games (Suzanne Collins - 2008)

It has now been a few days since I saw the film and I loved it sooooooooo much. I keep looking it up, details of the sequel, the cast, how well my review is doing, clips, pictures, everything. The day after I saw the film I bought the book and even though I am only 3 Chapters in and I can’t wait to read some more. To me this is My Harry Potter; I love the book and the film. I can’t wait for the next film and I am already looking forward to the DVD release. From what people have told me, the books are very Good and I almost bought all three in Waterstones (half price offer) but I decided to see if I liked the first one and so far, I do.  I have decided to take my time though because if I rush through it I’ll probably not enjoy it as much. While all the previous things mentioned did not take my fancy I have found something which has and as a result of that it has made me VERY HAPPY.

GENEPOOL (Apologies if the writing is a bit small, I forgot to change it while I was typing it in Word)

Actions

Information

4 responses

4 04 2012
Jeyna Grace

Hunger games at half price? nice..!

7 04 2012
numb3r5s

I am now 8 Chapters into it.

5 04 2012
The Colclough

i haven’t read or seen THG. sort of on my do list, but not very high up.

i made it into the early chapters of Hitchhikers book 4, but then he lost me. and i share your disinclination to ever read Twilight.

7 04 2012
numb3r5s

Do Both, I am now 8 Chapters the way through and it is Amazing. The Hunger Games has the possible chance of becoming My Favourite Non-Godzilla film, I will just have to wait until it comes out on DVD and then take it into Movie Battle against Transformers: Dark Of The Moon.

Leave a Reply

