A Fire Every Thursday

29 01 2014

Fire Alarm

You know that feeling when you are in bed and suddenly the fire alarm goes off? No? Well I do. When I was at Teesside University there would be a fire every Thursday. Why? Because that’s when they as in the people who managed the residence would test the fire alarms. An ideal thing to do yes, but not at 7:00 am when you’re trying to sleep.

TU

When I first went to Teesside University, within a week of moving in, there was a fire alarm going off. At first I thought it was the alarm clock, so I covered my ears, and the sound drowned out a little. Then (a couple of minutes later) I realised that it was still night time and that the sound was louder than the alarm clock. So I got up (with only some pants on) and tried to leave, but then I was told by a flat mate to get some trousers on, which I did before the head warden urged me to get out of the building, the alarm still going off. Eventually the sound finished and all was clear, no explanation as to what happened. A few minutes later it went off again but that was due to it not being turned off properly, but that didn’t stop people running for the door. The following Thursday it went off again at 7:00 am, so me and my house mates bolted for the door to be told that it was just the time when the alarms were tested. And it was the same for the next few weeks until I got to the point that I could have a mini lie in and not notice it, something that was probably not a good idea to do at the sound of a fire alarm. But we could rest assured that Fire was an impossible eventuality on Thursday’s, and even if there was one, it was nothing to worry about as it was only a test gone wrong, so back to sleep.

Bed

My halls of residence, well the whole university was weird but that’s a story for another time, but I will say this. The common space in our block had one of the world’s greatest inventions in it; a shopping trolley.

Shopping Trolley

Well a couple of weeks after the first fire alarm, there was another one, thankfully at a better time, so that’s at least one thing, however it turned out to be a drill, So I don’t know what the one ‘TWO WEEKS EARLIER’ was about? I remember what the woman said after the drill, “Next time, it will be real”. Well that was not exactly the case. We still got the fire every Thursday, but the next 2/3 times we had a fire alarm going off it was mainly mistakes made by students (sorry, residents) who couldn’t do the ironing.

Halls Of Residence (Teesside)

It was about January when the last one (back in 2011) took place. It had been snowing outside recently (I think it was January) and when the alarm went off at about midnight, you instinctively knew (unless it was Thursday) to get out of the building. I was wearing nothing more than a t-shirt, trousers and shoes and I had to cross my arms in hope of keeping warm, while everyone from the upper floors thought that when the alarm went off you took your time to put your dressing gown on instead of running out of the building. They were there, all nice and warm while I was freezing in the snow at about midnight wanting nothing more than to get back inside. In the end this one turned out to be almost real as it was indeed someone leaving the iron on. Disaster averted and then there were no more fire alarms for the rest of the year……….except for Thursdays of course.

Freeze-side University

GENEPOOL

Actions

Information

4 responses

30 01 2014
The Colclough

sounds like… not quite ‘fun’ – what’s that other word that means almost the same as ‘fun’, except completely the opposite?

30 01 2014
numb3r5s

Horrible?

4 02 2014
The Colclough

that’ll be the one i was looking for

4 02 2014
numb3r5s

Happy to help.

Leave a Reply

