Please Turn Over (P.T.O.) or Turn Page Over (T.P.O.)?

25 02 2015

Pen and Paper

For well over 10 years now, when I have written a piece of work and reached the bottom of the page, I have written the abbreviation T.P.O. instead of the standardised abbreviation P.T.O. Now while this subject may appear to be a bit of a weird thing to see on a blog post, I just thought I would pose and analyse the question as to which way it should be (this probably won’t be a long post).

Page Turning

I used to think it was T.P.O. because the abbreviation (at least in my mind) for Turn Page Over made more sense than writing P.T.O. because the abbreviation Please Turn Over did not really work for me as Please Turn Over does not exactly state to the person who sees it what exactly they should be turning over. If it is at the bottom of the page I can understand P.T.O. could be directed at the page and the reader to turn over the page, but as it is not necessarily used in that situation all the time, I think it is a rather ambiguous term to use. One time I had seen the term put to use in a non-page turning position; in an episode of the BBC Two show Robot Wars when the robot Pitbull had it on the underside as a possible way to get the other robots to turn it up the right way again (which worked once against Behemoth, but not against Firestorm).

Robot Wars Logo

I think the term T.P.O. works much better than P.T.O. as it defines what needs to be turned over; even though it could also be said that I started writing T.P.O. at the time I discovered P.T.O. But still I think T.P.O. is the better terminology due to it being more defined by mentioning the word Page with a P. Not unless the abbreviation P.T.P.O. (Please Turn Page Over) is introduced? What do you think?

GENEPOOL (Bit of a weird post I know, but I thought it might be fun to do it).

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

