Top 10 Films of 2014 – Part 2

20 03 2015

Film Reel 2014

Continuing on from Part 1; here are my Top 5 Favourite Films of 2014. That’s about all there is to say really. Don’t forget, please feel free to comment, Like, and Rate the post too. Enjoy.

Transformers: Age Of Extinction (Paramount Pictures - 2014)

5. Transformers: Age of Extinction – I absolutely love the Transformers films. Each time a sequel was announced I was so happy and have enjoyed every single one of them. Age of Extinction though is by far the best one to date. Easily the most enjoyable and memorable film in the series to date culminating in a very long film but in my opinion better than the previous 3 put together. The only issue I had with it was that it could have been a bit more violent, but sadly not. A great cast of characters, both human and robotic which includes human stars Stanley Tucci, Mark Wahlberg, Kelsey Grammer and Nicola Peltz. The transformers themselves also featured a great cast which including series regulars Optimus Prime (Peter Cullen) and Megatron; now Galvatron (Frank Welker) but also new members including Hound (John Goodman), Drift (Ken Watanabe), Crosshairs (John DiMaggio), Lockdown (Mark Ryan), Stinger and best of all; The Dinobots. One amazing film which instantly jumped up my list after I saw it.

Gone Girl (20th Century Fox - 2014)

4. Gone Girl – When I heard that Gone Girl was coming, I was very interested for one reason more than most; David Fincher was directing it. I had seen the book on shop shelves in train stations for a while now but did not know what it was about. I heard a brief scene on the radio, but then I went to see it. It is a hard film to talk about because in essence, the story involves a really horrible person doing something extremely outlandish to get revenge on the person they married, and in the end getting away with it, forever. It reminds me a lot of a story I heard about the production of the original Alien film, where Ridley Scott wanted the Alien to win by killing Ripley, maybe back then he couldn’t do that, but after the release of Gone Girl; he can now. Gone Girl is an extremely good film and one of the best of 2014, but it’s hard to say that I like it as that statement, just sounds wrong. The film did have some great characters from Ben Affleck and Rosamund Pike but top marks (in my opinion) have to go to Carrie Coon for the part of Margo. Brilliantly directed by David Fincher and thoroughly gripping. I don’t think I have been to see a film and heard that much gasping from the audience until I saw Gone Girl.

The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1 (Lions Gate - 2014)

3. The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1The Hunger Games series continues with the release of Mockingjay Part 1. While I do not fully agree with Hollywood’s part 1 part 2 philosophy of making films as it is mostly just a form of making more money more than anything else; I am however OK with The Hunger Games doing it as it prolongs one of the best film series not just to date but in movie history (at least to me). I was unsure of where the film was going to be split though. Having finally finished the book series back in April I came up with an assumption, and I was right to about 5 minutes. While in essence Part 1 just covers the first half to just before the third part of the book, the film I felt was a lot like the first Hunger Games film. While I still prefer the first two films to this one, the essence and feeling captured in Mockingjay Part 1 reminded me a lot of why I particularly liked the first one and several scenes felt like the first film was being revisited. When it was all over I was singing The Hanging Tree song chorus out of the cinema and all the way home. The films main stars continue to provide excellent characters for the film, plus plenty new characters to enjoy too, but stealing the spot light is still the dynamic duo of Katniss Everdeen (Jennifer Lawrence) and President Snow (Donald Sutherland). With the scene now setup from another spectacular film, it leaves the stage open and ready for the final act; I’m probably going to cry when it’s all over.

The Raid 2 (XYZ Films - 2014)

2. The Raid 2 – I had heard about The Raid but had not seen it by the time The Raid 2 came out. I went to see 2 at The Dukes in Lancaster and got a huge shock within the first 10 minutes or so which makes it, quite easily; the most violent film I have seen to date. From start to finish it was one huge compilation of fights involving lots of blood, broken limbs and people getting killed in the most brutal of fashions. But the film was another thing as well, it wasn’t just an extremely violent film, it was also FANTASTIC. Really good story telling, terrific fights and spectacular martial arts sequences, brilliant action moments including one amazing car chase taking place inside and outside more than 5 cars and at least one motorbike and on top of that truly terrific characters including series protagonist Rama played by Iko Uwais and especially so to the character of Hammer Girl played by Julie Estelle. Simply Fantastic and Brutal, Awesome.

Godzilla 2014 (Legendary Pictures - 2014)

1. Godzilla – My year in 2014 can be summarised by my excitement and expectancy to one particular film. From the first trailer to opening night, the one thing I was most looking forward too was the New Godzilla, and I wasn’t disappointed one bit. I saw it on the big screen 3 times during its release. Every second was movie gold to me. The film was led by a really good cast including Aaron Taylor-Johnson, Ken Watanabe, Bryan Cranston, Sally Hawkins, Elizabeth Olsen, David Strathairn and (briefly) Juliette Binoche. But the biggest star was of course Godzilla himself. While it does take a while for him to appear on the screen in full force, the film includes little sightings and mentioning’s of him here and there including the terrific opening intro, but while it may take time for him to appear in full view, it makes that first moment in full view all the more special and spectacular. While it has been pointed out that he had little screen time, I feel he had plenty for now, and overall was a great introduction for new audiences. For me though I was more pleased over that it wasn’t just a creature called Godzilla or looked like Godzilla, but that it was Godzilla on-screen, right down to the iconic Atomic Deathray. One absolutely, fantastic film that I consider not just the best film of 2014, but also; one of the best, Godzilla films.

GENEPOOL

Actions

Information

2 responses

21 03 2015
The Colclough

not exactly a surprise to find Godzilla at the top of the list! still need to get round to seeing it myself…

23 03 2015
numb3r5s

Not really is it, but it was my favourite.

Leave a Reply

