Sam’s Rant – I Am Holding Down Triangle!

29 04 2015

Far Cry 3

Recently, I have been replaying Far Cry 3 on my PS3. It’s been an enjoyable experience, replaying one of my absolute favourite games and re-experiencing the story and re-interacting with the characters along with the fun of exploration, hunting, crafting and of course; shooting bad guys. There is one thing however that really perturbs me: Healing.

Far Cry 3 Syringe

Healing is a very important thing of course. I can’t possibly count the number of times I have found myself in combat and needing to heal because I (as in the character I am playing) am losing health. Most of the time, when it comes to healing, all I need to do is hold down the triangle button and I either perform self first aid on myself or more likely stab myself with a healing syringe in the arm. Healing myself though for the benefit of staying alive is not the thing that perturbs me about healing; it’s being asked to hold down triangle when I already am holding down triangle to heal myself when in a certain situation of needing to heal. This usually comes in the form of me being on fire.

Far Cry 3 Fire

Fire is something that is hard to miss in this game, especially when so many villainous characters carry around Molotov Cocktails and Flamethrowers, as well as the number of fires in camps which I always end up walking past that burn me, but not the other characters for some unexplained/unexplored reason.  Anyway, in the cases that I find myself on fire, I instantly know this fact and hold down triangle to heal myself/put out the fire. At this point though the game tells me to hold down triangle to put out the fire. As I am already holding down triangle to heal myself from being on fire, I would assume the game would automatically do what it is prompting me about. Unfortunately however, it does not and so to put the fire out on me, I have to release triangle and hold down again.

PS3 Controller

So, I am on fire, and cannot heal when it tells me to put out the fire; and when you are in the middle of a firefight with a bunch of guys who probably prefer it that you are on fire, and therefore lose health; it’s probably not all that helpful prompting me to do things even though I am already doing that thing in the first place, but still require me being told to do and redo that in order to heal myself and no longer be on fire, and not do that until I do so. It’s a complicated issue, and one that being kind of obvious happening to you, even if it is not actually real, you should be able to do without being prompted to do it. So, being the case, as the game is made, I cannot possibly count the number of times I have found myself in a firefight and mildly shouting under breath at the game saying “I am holding down triangle!”, but still have to redo all of it to accomplish it. It’s sort of like finding yourself in a situation where you have a broken leg and need to ring for an Ambulance, which you do, but then get prompted by some text in front of your eyes (or maybe more likely someone passing you by telling you that you should ring for an Ambulance) telling you to ring for an Ambulance and then not able to ring for the Ambulance (even though you already are) until you ring for an Ambulance.

UK Ambulance

Anyway, I completed Far Cry 3 for the second time on Sunday and so for the time being I don’t necessarily have to worry about holding down triangle whenever I get burned by a camp fire.

Far Cry 3 AK-47

GENEPOOL (While I do consider this one of my favourite games, this is not the first time I have raised a complaint about it).

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

