Taking A Break

22 07 2015

Tea

For the past few weeks I have been working hard on producing a series of film reviews to be posted over the space of a week. For such a task, I chose one specific film series, the name of which I intend to as secret as possible to be a surprise when it finally happens. Writing a series of film reviews though does take time and at best I am able to write about 1 a week. So 7 films should take about 7 weeks. Well, not really. It took me close to 2 weeks to get the first one written before I then put myself onto a proper schedule. I am currently (at time of writing) 3 films in, with 4 to go. Due to having a fully booked week last week due to my Graduation and a day out at Blackpool Pleasure Beach, I took something of a week off from writing with a plan to restart the following week with a plan to get straight back into the reviewing process as soon as possible. Watching the same film series and writing about it over a series of weeks, (particularly when the series is more than 3 films long) can get a bit tiresome and eventually you can find yourself craving to watch something else. During my Graduation week, I thought I could take the opportunity to watch some other film entirely in order to break the cycle, I did not however take such an opportunity and found myself about to restart writing film reviews again, and it’s not helping when the next film is the worst in the series.

A Game Of Thrones (George R. R. Martin)

I am finding writing a series of film reviews quite hard/daunting as so far I am not even half way through yet, and most of the reviews can be 7 pages long. While I thought number 3 was going to be a little quicker due to it not being bad as such, but definitely a weak film, it was about as long as the others. Ideally I would like to complete the series before I go on holiday, as it would mean that they are finished, and I can enjoy my holiday without thinking about them. Most of the time (when I am in the zone) I can just write away and get it done, but I am finding it hard to even think about how it’s progressing when it still feels like a long time away until it’s done. It makes me think of it as being like a film review version of A Song of Ice and Fire (although I am confident that it will be finished well before The Winds of Winter gets released).

TMNT (Imagi Animation Studios - 2007)

So with the next film in sight, I was feeling a little low (well, more like a lot) about getting back into it. Then one of my best friends suggested I watch something else before continuing; which was a Fantastic Idea. You see the thing is, that while you are doing such a project as this, you do want to watch something else as the week goes one, but you feel like you can’t because you should be watching the other film’s in the series. With me not doing anything related to that series though during graduation week, I went along with my friend’s suggestion, and instead of watching the next film in that series, I watched something else entirely, and it felt nice. I watched a film I have not seen in years, maybe not since it was first shown on Sky Movies. I watched TMNT, the 2007 CGI movie starring the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. I rather enjoyed it, I have always liked that film since seeing it at the cinema, but seeing it again after so long was the breath of fresh air I needed. I also noticed how short it was, I thought it would be about industry standard 90 minutes long, but in fact it was about 1 hour 20 minutes long (plus a little more including the credits), coming altogether to 87 minutes long. That was not all I watched though.

AKIRA (Toho Co. Ltd. - 1988)

With still maybe a couple of hours to go until midnight, I did ponder about watching that 4th film, but instead I decided to watch a few clips from a film that I saw for the first time back in November, and couldn’t stop thinking about: AKIRA. It’s a film that, like a few others that come to my mind is one I really want to write a film review for. When I watched it again, I did not watch it all the way through, I just wanted to see a few moments. From the Bike Chase at the beginning, to mentions of the mysterious AKIRA, to Tetsuo’s dream and eventual rampage, all the way to the film’s grotesque end. I loved watching it again, even if it was not all of it.

Neo-Tokyo

Watching these 2 films has been a real breath of fresh air in my movie watching. While I will have started the next film review in the series by the time this gets posted, I am thankful for my friend’s suggestion and advice, plus the opportunity to watch two completely different things to nourish my film tastes. While the end of the film series is still some time away, I am confident I will get it finished, and that it will be worth it in the end. First I just need to deal with the tricky 4th film, then onto the even trickier task of reviewing 3 really good films in a row, and then I can take a break from my reviews until I decide to do another one.

TMNT Statues

GENEPOOL

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

