All This Food To Try Out

7 10 2015

Sainsbury's

A few weeks ago, I was working at a local branch of Sainsbury’s during the store’s refurbishment, which was rather odd as I am certain that particular store had been open for less than 4 years (possibly even 3) and it was already going through this refurbishment. Anyway, as one of the people working on site to help in the refurbishment, one thing happened on a daily basis while working there, and that was spotting new types of food and brands that I then wanted to try.

Milka

Basically I was doing Stock Replenishment. What that means is that once a section of the store was complete, me and my team were responsible for restacking empty shelves to the point where they were all brimmed full of brand new products. To do this we had to get the products from the marquee for the first few days (basically a bunch of tents where the car park is) then later the warehouse; then follow a planner sheet telling us where the products went, how many faces were on show (how many products across and up) and keep doing this until all available space was filled up. Simple and we did this for five days in a row, up until the day just before the shop reopened to the public. We also had to do a lot of facing; this is where you turn the product on the outside to make it all face outwards, so basically showing the logo of the product rather than any other part of it.

Pringles

So that’s what I was doing for all 5 days of the job, however when dealing with so many products, it’s real easy to get a little bit distracted when you spot something interesting. This would usually happen in the food isles, most of the time you wouldn’t take a blind bit of notice when handling a brand you see almost every day, like Pringles. But every now and then you’ll spot something which after a few minutes of looking at it, will want to try it. For the first few occasions it was liquids. While I did on one day work the alcohol isle, I don’t drink alcohol and so don’t have any intention to try any, however one day I was doing the juice carton section and since then have wanted to try Ocean Spray. My knowledge on Ocean Spray at that time only went up to the adverts with the 2 blokes up to their knees in Cranberries, however after spending a good period of time replenishing the Ocean Spray’s back onto the shelves of Sainsbury’s, I now want to try some.

Ocean Spray Carton

Other occasions included a breakfast like milkshake thing I found and stocked in the breakfast aisle (It was called something along the lines of; “Up On The Go”), cakes in the cakes and bread sections (including a gorgeous looking triple layer red velvet cake) and some cake mix recipes. I also spotted some brands I had already known about but immediately wanted to have some, such as a Milka chocolate bar, and what appeared to be the return of one of my favourite brands of chocolate, Riesen’s. On the final day itself I spotted something else, this was inedible, but I still wanted to try it. It was a Graphic Novel in the books section called Username: Evie, I have since spotted it in Waterstone’s, so at least I don’t need to go into Sainsbury’s to buy it, as I feel like it will be a long time until I’ll want to go back into that particular store.

Red Velvet cake mix

It’s been a few weeks since the job and I have yet to try many of the things I spotted. I have though managed to have some Riesen’s and Milka since then. Part of me doubts that I will at some point get to eat all of those products, as I am not a millionaire with a lot of spare time on my hands, but some stuff like the Ocean Spray I still wouldn’t mind possibly giving a go one day. One thing though I could possibly try is putting some Chorizo in my Spaghetti Bolognese, as the announcements round the store kept saying. It was just a shame that there wasn’t any nearby large supermarkets open where I could have bought the ingredients.

Chorizo

GENEPOOL (the following week I was in a much smaller branch of Sainsbury’s, and it was amazing how small it felt all of a sudden, but still felt like a long walk around it).

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

