When To Go Next-Gen?

2 11 2016

My PS3 (and GameCube)

I have been thinking a lot recently: I have been thinking about a lot of things; things such as work, writing, hobbies, music, the new Godzilla film, but as to what I have been thinking about as to the reason for this post, is when should I go Next-Gen, and by that I mean, when I should take my current Video Gaming experience to the next generation……….of consoles?

magnavox-odyssey

In the world of Video Games, whenever a new set of Video Game Consoles begin to make an appearance or debut, they are considered as the Next Generation of Consoles. Video Game consoles do not last, once a new one has been released, work has already started on its successor (and machinery is prone to failure and will always eventually die). Now this work comes more in the form of design and development and it will actually be a few years until official news has been released regarding the next console. There is already speculation in the air though before that as to what it will be called, look like and feature, and most of the time when you look online to look these things up, all you will really find are tiny snippets of speculation plus a suggestive idea of what said console may look like, but most of the time such deigns are never implicated. Eventually though they would be released and the debate would rise again as to which console is best and which one should be bought.

Wii U

The Current generation of consoles started to make their appearance in 2012 with the release of the Nintendo Wii U, however it really kicked off a year later with the release of both the (MicrosoftXbox One and the Sony PlayStation 4 at the same time. Current sales figures suggest that in terms of home console sales, the PS4 is currently winning with over 40 Million sales, while the Wii U has totaled over 12 million sales and the Xbox One has over 21 Million sales. The debate though as to which console is the overall best is probably still raging with no clear winner in sight. When a new console is released, excitement fills the air as gaming fanatics and industry veterans look on to see what the consoles are like, but more importantly what the games are like; after all that is the sole purpose of Video game Consoles, to play games. While they can browse the web and be used for other entertainment purposes, without Games to play on them, they are simply not Video Game consoles. In the past I too have been excited to see what the consoles are going to be like, and have shown great interest especially with the release of both the GameCube in 2002 and the Wii in 2006. Come 2012 and 2013 however, due to a change of vision and regular hobbies, I only took a partial look towards the new consoles released at the time and so far have not really taken much of a look or interest, and have really just enjoyed playing on the consoles I have and the cheap games I can play on them.

far-cry-primal

But recently I have been thinking. While replaying some games on my PS3, namely Killzone 3 and Beyond: Two Souls, I began to wonder if it was time to get a new console, or if not now, when? You see, while I am enjoying my new lease on video gaming life, trying out the games I did not get a chance to at one point; I realized that eventually, I would run out of things to play as all the new games would be on newer consoles. There are games on the next generation of consoles I do want to play like the recently released Far Cry Primal, but I don’t really see a point at getting a new machine when currently there is only one game I really ‘want’ to play. I feel that I should wait until there are more games, more options, games to keep me going for now, while also buying cheaper pre-owned games to fill in other times. While this may be the case so far with the new lot, I still ‘want’ more of a reason to buy a new machine. More want games rather than like to games. Money and purchases become more valuable as you grow up as I have begun to realize, that now unless I really want something, I probably will not purchase it. Most of the pre-owned games I am playing at the moment are ones I would like to try, but due to their cheapness, a few quid is nothing, compared to ten’s if not hundreds of pounds. When spending so much more cash, even if the amount is still relatively small, you really need to be sure that you really want to give it a go, which at least when you purchase it will give you a good feeling, not a nervous one, because when that happens, it’s easy to instantly regret spending so much. You need to be sure. So while there is at least one game I ‘want’ to play, there is still not enough to make it worth it.

horizon-zero-dawn

While I may not be certain as to when given the value of purchases I have begun to live by, I am more certain though of which console I want to purchase. I have looked into it, and the other two do not really provide me with much interest as to have a desire to purchase them enough compared to this one, and also, I know that while some games may be off, this console will be able to play the games I want to play. While most games can be played on most if not all consoles, some game consoles have exclusives of which only their console will be able to play, and knowing what games I like I know that in terms of exclusives, only the PlayStation 4 rocks my boat. But there is still not enough to want to make me buy anything. But that could be about to change.

Since a couple of weeks ago, I have begun to look into purchasing the console. Now there are a few niggling little details such as:

  • Though while pre-owned consoles are cheaper, does that mean pre-owned ones have less abilities or features?
  • Does the PS4 have the same Blu-ray system as my PS3, especially the bit where my PS3 is letting me watch multi regional Blu-rays?
  • Can PS3 games be played on it or should I keep my PS3 too?

But in terms of the games I ‘want’ to play debacle, things are beginning to look up as on the horizon there are at least three games due for release (one later this year, another next year, and one in active development) that I really want to play. Later this year Dishonored 2 is due for release; this year I have played the first Dishonored and absolutely enjoyed it and really want to play the second one. Next year; Horizon Zero Dawn is due for release. I don’t know much about it other than its core concept, and that it’s by Killzone developers Guerrilla Games. Then, while no release date has been specified yet, I really like the look of Detroit: Become Human by Heavy Rain developer Quantic Dream.

dishonored-2

While these games have still yet to be released, it gives me more options and reasons to buy a new console in the future. When that will be I don’t know. I could buy one to play Dishonored 2 as soon as it gets released, or I may just wait until the release of the others. Either way, these new games give me plenty to think on and I am more certain now that one day I will probably purchase a new console; but in the meantime I have a near antique treasure trove of other games to enjoy.

My PS3 Games (at the moment)

GENEPOOL

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

